The sub-national division of the United Kingdom is a surprisingly complex topic. It has undergone multiple changes through the years and is often a source of confusion. The highest tier is the division by country, as the United Kingdom consists of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. This division, however, supplemented by the lack of a written constitution that would standardise the nomenclature and nature of further division, is the factor that might boggle the mind of anyone trying to learn about it. Lower levels of administrative division include regions, counties, unitary authority regions, districts, boroughs, parishes, lieutenancy areas and community councils. And then there are the less than formal divisions, some of them historical while others perform a special function - a good example is The Fens, a region defined by geography, but otherwise not forming any official entity. Below you will find a more comprehensive and ideally, a more useful division of the United Kingdom, the way UK citizens see their country. Simply click on the region name for a detailed analysis.

Aberdeen City (11 locations)

Aberdeenshire (219 locations)

Abertawe - Swansea (77 locations)

Arun District (36 locations)

Barnet London Boro (6 locations)

Barnsley District (47 locations)

Bexley London Boro (8 locations)

Birmingham District (10 locations)

Bolton District (11 locations)

Bradford District (47 locations)

Brent London Boro (6 locations)

Bromley London Boro (13 locations)

Caerdydd - Cardiff (17 locations)

Calderdale District (40 locations)

Camden London Boro (1 location)

Central Bedfordshire (98 locations)

Cheshire East (134 locations)

Cheshire West and Chester (130 locations)

City of Bristol (5 locations)

City of Derby (2 locations)

City of Edinburgh (15 locations)

City of Leicester (4 locations)

City of Nottingham (11 locations)

City of Plymouth (3 locations)

City of Southampton (3 locations)

City of Stoke-on-Trent (7 locations)

Cornwall (539 locations)

County Durham (245 locations)

Coventry District (4 locations)

Croydon London Boro (10 locations)

Doncaster District (71 locations)

Dudley District (10 locations)

Ealing London Boro (6 locations)

East Riding of Yorkshire (235 locations)

Enfield London Boro (4 locations)

Fife (122 locations)

Glasgow City (8 locations)

Greenwich London Boro (4 locations)

Harrow London Boro (5 locations)

Havering London Boro (9 locations)

Highland (183 locations)

Hillingdon London Boro (15 locations)

Hounslow London Boro (7 locations)

Isle of Wight (60 locations)

Kirklees District (57 locations)

Lambeth London Boro (7 locations)

Leeds District (60 locations)

Lewisham London Boro (3 locations)

Liverpool District (4 locations)

Manchester District (7 locations)

Medway (27 locations)

Milton Keynes (104 locations)

New Forest District (75 locations)

North Lanarkshire (47 locations)

North Somerset (63 locations)

Northumberland (251 locations)

Oldham District (21 locations)

Rotherham District (48 locations)

Salford District (11 locations)

Sandwell District (15 locations)

Sefton District (18 locations)

Sheffield District (23 locations)

Shropshire (401 locations)

South Gloucestershire (80 locations)

South Lanarkshire (64 locations)

Southwark London Boro (15 locations)

Stockport District (20 locations)

Sunderland District (11 locations)

Tameside District (13 locations)

Trafford District (13 locations)

Wakefield District (65 locations)

Walsall District (14 locations)

Wandsworth London Boro (2 locations)

Warrington (17 locations)

Wealden District (121 locations)

Wigan District (26 locations)

Wiltshire (402 locations)

Wirral District (14 locations)

York (39 locations)